Books

Penderwicks Series

With over one million copies sold, this irresistible series of modern classics tells the story of the Penderwicks, a family that believes in truth and honor, yet can’t seem to stay out of trouble. From National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall, the Penderwick books are perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

Cover of "The Penderwicks"

Cover of "The Penderwicks on Gardam Street"

Cover of "The Penderwicks at Point Mouette"

Cover of "The Penderwicks in Spring"

 

Flora’s Very Windy Day

Cover of "Flora's Very Windy Day"When Flora and her pesky little brother, Crispin, are whisked away by a swirling and swooping wind, she gets the opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to give her brother away. With tempting offers from a dragonfly, the man in the moon, and even the wind itself, she will find it difficult to choose. But Flora would do anything to get rid of Crispin, wouldn’t she?

Jeanne’s picture-book debut takes flight in award-winner Matt Phelan’s twisting, twirling watercolors, brimming with wit and whimsy.

As realistic as the mixed emotions it captures and as fanciful as a conversation with a rainbow, the first picture book by Birdsall, author of The Penderwicks (2005), blends homely and fantastic elements as naturally as a child at playBooklist, starred review

For more information on the artist Matt Phelan, visit his website: www.mattphelan.com

Lucky and Squash

Cover of "Lucky and Squash"Lucky and Squash are next-door neighbors and best friends. But there’s a locked gate between them, so they can’t play together. If only their owners fell in love and got married, Lucky and Squash would be brothers. Unfortunately, Miss Violet and Mr. Bernard have never even said hello to each other.

The only solution is for Lucky and Squash to run away together, leaving a trail of clues behind them. Then, when their owners come to the rescue, surely they will notice each other and fall in love. Won’t they?

While Lucky and Squash is a made-up story, it’s based on two real-life dogs. Squash came from Cagney the Boston Terrier, who live with Jeanne. And Lucky came from Scuppers the Tibetan terrier, who lives with Jane Dyer, the illustrator. Cagney and Scuppers have been best friends since they were small puppies, and still play together every day. Jeanne and Jane are best friends, too, and play together whenever they have time.

This is a fun canine fantasy with humor, excitement, a happy ending, and, most important of all, two ridiculously adorable dogs that end up getting their way—as dogs tend to do.Booklist